Fordham’s Cavanaugh, Gaitley Head Up All-Met Div. I WBB Selections

Bre Cavanaugh of Fordham has been named the All-Met Division I women’s college basketball Player of the Year by the Met Basketball Writers Association.    577

Stephanie Gaitley of Fordham was selected the Maggie Dixon Coach of the Year for a third time.

Columbia freshman Sienna Durr was named Rookie of the Year.

The rest of the All Met First Team, in addition to Cavanaugh: Tiana England, St. John’s; Madison Hovren, Army West Point; Rebekah Hand, Marist; Stella Johnson, Rider; Shadeen Samuels, Seton Hall.

The Second Team: Stasha Carey and Arella Guirantes, Rutgers; Mary Goulding, Fordham; Shorty Johnson, Stony Brook; Amy O’Neill, St. Francis Brooklyn.

The Third Team: Boogie Brozoski, Hofstra; Alana Gilmer, Marist; Qadasha Hoppie, St. John’s; Katherine Haines, Sacred Heart; Jerell Matthews, Stony Brook.

The All-Met First and Second Team players, plus the coach and rookie of the year, will be honored Tuesday, April 30, at the 86th NIT/MBWA Haggerty Awards dinner at the Westchester Marriott, Tarrytown, NY.

A 5-8 sophomore guard from Allamuchy, NJ, Cavanaugh — who also was an Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team selection — registered among the leaders in numerous  league categories.  578
She was second in the A-10 in scoring (17.1 ppg), field goals (196) and 3-pointers (74); fifth in free throws made (115); seventh in free throw shooting (80.4%); ninth in rebounds (218); 12th in A/TO ratio (1.5); and 14th in assists (84). She produced 31 double-digit scoring games out of 34 played this season, with 13 20-point efforts or better, and her 581 points scored are the 10th most in a single season in program history.

An All-Met Second Team and Rookie of the Year designee last season, Cavanaugh became the 22nd 1,000-point scorer in Rams annals and the third fastest to do it. Overall, she has 1,159 points in two seasons at Fordham for a 17.0 ppg career average.

Gaitley, who also was tabbed All-Met Coach of the Year in 2013 and 2018, guided the Rams — one of the youngest teams in the country with just three upperclass players — to their second-ever Atlantic 10 championship (both with Gaitley) and a share of the program’s first regular season title. She racked up her third straight 20-win season at Fordham with a 25-9 record and led the Rams to a sixth postseason berth. The team’s 25 wins are third-most in program history.

Statistically, Fordham finished among the NCAA leaders in several categories: ninth in the nation in scoring defense with 54.4 points allowed per game; seventh in average turnovers (11.5), ninth lowest with 13.3 personal fouls per game; and 37th in assist/turnover ratio (1.14). The Rams won all three of their games in the A-10 tournament, defeating U-Mass, Duquesne and No. 1 seed VCU, then lost to host Syracuse in the NCAA Tournament.

A 6-0 freshman guard/forward from Grinnell, IA, Durr was named Ivy League rookie of the year and was selected for the All-Ivy Second Team. She averaged a team-high 14.5 points and 6.2 rebounds, becoming the first Columbia first-year player in 17 years to lead the team in both categories. Her 392 points are the most by a Lions rookie.


NEW YORK (April 26, 2019) – The 2018-19 All-Met Division I women’s college basketball teams announced Friday by the Met Basketball Writers Association.

First Team

Bre Cavanaugh, Fordham                              5-8, So. G        Allamuchy, NJ

Tiana England, St. John’s                               5-7, So., G       Stamford, CT

Madison Hovren, Army                                   5-11, Sr., F      Spokane, WA

Rebekah Hand, Marist                                    5-10, Jr, G       Argyle, TX

Stella Johnson, Rider                                      5-10, Jr., G      Denville, NJ

Shadeen Samuels, Seton Hall                        6-0, Jr., F         Ossining, NY

Second Team

Stasha Carey, Rutgers                                   6-2, Sr., F        Cleveland, OH

Arella Guirantes, Rutgers                               5-11, So., G     Bellport, NY

Mary Goulding, Fordham                                6-0, Sr., F        Rangiora, New Zealand

Shorty Johnson, Stony Brook                         5-1, Sr., G       Frederick, MD

Amy O’Neill, St. Francis Brooklyn                   5-6, Sr., G       Melbourne, Australia

Third Team

Boogie Brozoski, Hofstra                                5-6, Sr., G        Cambria Heights, NY

Alana Gilmer, Marist                                        6-0, Jr., F         No. Easton, MA

Qadasha Hoppie, St. John’s                           5-7, So., G       Staten Island, NY

Katherine Haines, Sacred Heart                     6-2, Gr., F        Ridgefield Park, NJ

Jerell Matthews, Stony Brook                         5-9, Sr., G        Chicago, IL

Player of the Year: Bre Cavanaugh, Fordham

Coach of the Year: Stephanie Gaitley, Fordham

Rookie of the Year: Sienna Durr, Columbia, 6-0, Fr., G/F, Grinnell, IA

About the Author

Get connected with us on Social Media