Tampa Yankees Release Their Roster

TAMPA, Fla. – Top prospects Jorge Mateo and James Kaprielian highlight a list of 13 returning players while 2016 draftees Nick Solak (2nd RD), Taylor Widener (12th RD) and Mandy Alvarez (17th RD) are set to debut, as the Tampa Yankees released their 2017 Opening Day Roster on Wednesday.

The T-Yanks will boast a talented group looking to return to the Florida State League postseason after earning the North Division Championship a year ago. Among those on the roster will be 13 pitchers, two catchers, six infielders and four outfielders.

Pitchers (13): Right-handers Domingo Acevedo, Colten Brewer, Cody Carroll, Hobie Harris, James Kaprielian, Zack Littell, Dillon McNamara, Jose Peña, Andrew Schwaab and Taylor Widener; Left-handers Ian Clarkin, Nestor Cortes and Josh Rogers.

Catchers (2): Sharif Othman and Jorge Sáez.

Infielders (6): Mandy Alvarez, Abiatal Avelino, Kyle Holder, Jorge Mateo, Matt Snyder and Nick Solak.

Outfielders (4): Trey Amburgey, Austin Aune, Jhalan Jackson and Tito Polo.

The roster features eight of the top-30 Yankees prospects, as ranked by MLB Pipeline: Jorge Mateo (5), James Kaprielian (6), Domingo Acevedo (14), Nick Solak (20), Ian Clarkin (21), Zack Littell (23), Kyle Holder (25) and Taylor Widener (30).

About the Author

Get connected with us on Social Media