The NHL Hands Out The Hardware

The NHL held is annual awards at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas Nevada.

Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks won Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team,”

Kane received 121 first-place votes and appeared on each of the 150 ballots cast for 1,395 points. Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby, named on 145 ballots including 11 first-place tallies, finished second in voting with 800 points, followed by Dallas Stars left wing Jamie Benn (637).

Kane posted career highs in goals (46), assists (60) and points (106) to capture the Art Ross Trophy and power the Blackhawks to their eighth straight playoff appearance. The Buffalo, N.Y., native notched at least one point in 64 of his 82 contests (78.0%), highlighted by a 26-game streak Oct. 17 – Dec. 13 (16-24—40) – a franchise record, the longest by a U.S.-born player in NHL history and the longest by any player since 1992-93 (Mats Sundin: 30). Kane, who became the first U.S.-born player in League history to win the scoring title, is Chicago’s first Hart Trophy winner since 1967-68 (Stan Mikita).

Kane also won Ted Lindsay Award as Most outstanding player. He voted on by players in NHLPA. and Art Ross Trophy, presented “to the player who leads the league in scoring points at the end of the regular season.” In post interview Kane called it “Special”.

Artemi Planarian of the Chicago Blackhawks won the Calder Memorial trophy as outstanding rookie. Planarian received 88 first place votes. He is the first Blackhawk to win the award to win since Patrick Kane in 2008.

Jim Rutherford of the Pittsburgh Penguins won the General Manager of Year. He beat out Brain MacLeallan of the Washington Captials and Jim Nill of the Dallas Stars. Rutherford guided the Pittsburgh Penguins to Stanley Cup Championship in the 2015-16 season

Florida Panthers right wing Jaromir Jagr is the 2015-16 recipient of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL player who “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.” The award was presented by the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA) to honor the late Bill Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited those qualities. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968, as a result of an on-ice injury.

Jagr was selected as the Panthers’ Masterton Trophy nominee in a season that saw the 44-year-old inspire his team to franchise records for wins (47) and points (103) while capturing their second division title. Playing in his 22nd NHL season, Jagr led the Panthers in scoring with 27-39–66, becoming the oldest player in League history to surpass the 60-point plateau. His work ethic and off-ice mentorship, particularly with line mates Aleksander Barkov and Jonathan Huberdeau, whose combined age is younger than Jagr, was considered as valuable as his on-ice production

The Mark Messier Award went to Nashville Predators Shea Weber. The award recognizes an individual as a superior leader in hockey and as a contributing member of society. It honors an individual who leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and dedication to community activities and charitable causes. In his acceptance speech, Weber honored the late Gordie Howe. and his family. Runners up were Alex Ovechkin of Washington Captials and John Tavares of NY Islanders.

Vancouver Canucks center Henrik Sedin is this year’s recipient of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player who best exemplifies leadership on and off the ice and who has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution to his community.”

Mark Giordano of the Calgary Flames is the recipient of the 2015-16 NHL Foundation Player Award, recognizing an NHL player who applies the core values of hockey — commitment, perseverance and teamwork — to enrich the lives of people in his community.Runners up were Matt Martin of the NY Islanders and PK Subban of the Montreal Canadiens.

The James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded to the defenseman demonstrating “the greatest all-around ability in the position, went to Drew Doughty of LA Kings. Doughty won 93 first place votes, Beating Erik Karlsson of Ottawa Senators and Brent Burns.of San Jose Sharks.

Anze Kopitar of The Los Angeles Kings won the Frank J Selke Trophy as the best defensive forward. Also Koptiar won the the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability,

Washington Capitals head coach Barry Trotz has captured the Jack Adams Award as “the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success,”

Trotz was a top-three selection on 80 of the 89 ballots cast, including 58 first-place votes, for 344 voting points. Trotz, whose 658 career victories over 17 NHL seasons rank ninth on the all-time wins list, is a Jack Adams Award winner for the first time. He is the third Capitals head coach to earn Adams honors, joining Bryan Murray (1984) and Bruce Boudreau (2008).Trotz acknowledged the Late Wayne Fleming and Jack Button as the people responsible to get him into coaching.

Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals has captured his first Vezina Trophy, awarded to the “goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position,” as selected by NHL General Managers. Prior to 1981-82, the Vezina was awarded to the goaltender(s) whose team allowed the fewest goals during the regular season, the current criterion for the William Jennings Trophy.

Prevoius Washington Captials winners include Jim Carey in 1996 and Olaf Kolzig in 2000.

Frederik Andersen and John Gibson of the Anaheim Ducks won the William M. Jennings Trophy, presented “to the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it.”

Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin claimed his fourth consecutive and sixth career Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy as the League’s goal-scoring leader, adding to the ones he earned in 2007-08, 2008-09, 2012-13, 2013-14 and 2014-15.

The NHL 17 cover winner was Vladimir Tarasenko of St. Louis Blues.

Gary Bettman honored both Ed Snider and Gordie Howe. and all the hockey people that passed away the past year.

About the Author

Get connected with us on Social Media