Musburger to Receive Scully Award, Stahl to be Cited with Osgood Award at WFUV Radio’s On the Record Wednesday

WFUV Radio (90.7 FM/ will honor CBS 60 Minutes correspondent Lesley Stahl and ESPN play-by-play broadcaster Brent Musburger at “On the Record: a celebration of achievement in news and sports broadcasting,” on Wednesday night at the Fordham University School of Law in Manhattan.

Stahl, a 12-time Emmy Award recipient, will receive the Charles Osgood Award for Excellence Broadcast Journalism, named for legendary broadcaster, WFUV alumnus, and 1954 Fordham graduate. Osgood will present the award to his CBS colleague Stahl.

Musburger, one of the most recognized voices is sports broadcasting and a member of the National Sportsbroadcasters and Sportswriters Association Hall of Fame, will receive the Vin Scully Lifetime Achievement Award in Sports Broadcasting, named after the Hall of Fame broadcaster, play-by-play voice of the Los Angeles Dodgers, and alumnus of WFUV and Fordham (1949). ESPN anchor, host and commentator Chris Berman will present his colleague Musburger with the Scully Award.

Both Osgood and Scully retired last month after distinguished careers. WFUV is the noncommercial, member-supported public media service of Fordham University for nearly 70 years, which both used as launching pads to their illustrious careers in broadcasting.

WFUV’s exceptional student broadcasters who have demonstrated a commitment to pursuing media careers, Jake Shore (FCRH ’17) and Drew Casey (FCRH ’17) will be spotlighted for News and Sports, respectively.

CBS This Morning Saturday Co-host and National correspondent Anthony Mason will moderate an armchair discussion as the awardees reflect on their extraordinary careers.

FOX Business Network and WABC Radio “Imus in the Morning” news anchor Connell McShane, another WFUV Radio product, will serve as the evening’s Master of Ceremonies.

Previous Osgood Award recipients include: inaugural honoree Osgood (2008), Jim Lehrer (2009), Bob Schieffer (2010), Tom Brokaw (2011), Christiane Amanpour (2012), Sam Donaldson (2013), Scott Simon (2014), and Charlie Rose (2015).

Previous Scully Award recipients include: inaugural honoree Scully (2008), Dick Enberg (2009), Ernie Harwell (2010), Pat Summerall (2011), Al Michaels (2012), Bob Costas (2013), Verne Lundquist (2014), and Mike “Doc” Emrick (2015).

About the Author

Get connected with us on Social Media